Find us on Facebook
Customer Advisory: Please know that your order will take a bit longer to receive due to shipping carrier volume issues and increased warehouse processing time due to pandemic protocols. This applies even to next-day and two-day air shipments. Thank you for your patience and understanding and for your support of Movie Zyng.
Flicker Alley, LLC presents:

Berlin Symphony Of A Great City [Blu-Ray] (Blu-Ray)

Blu-Ray (UPC: 810162037246)

  • Documentary (Aspect: 1.33:1)
Available Formats:
Price: $24.33
List Price: $24.95
You Save: $0.62 (2.5%)
In Stock


At once an invaluable photographic record of life in Weimer Berlin and a timeless demonstration of the cinema's ability to enthrall on a purely visceral level, Berlin, Symphony of a Great City (Berlin, die Symphonie der Grosstadt) offers a kaleidoscopic view of a single day in the life of a bustling metropolis. Carl Mayer (The Last Laugh), influenced by the naturalistic Kammerspiel movement, envisioned "a melody of pictures" sprung from daily reality instead of the stylized artificiality of the studio-bound expressionist film. Following Mayer's rough outline, photographer Karl Freund deployed a team of cameramen to explore the avenues, alleyways, and factories of Berlin and secure hidden-camera glimpses of the people and machinery that provide the city with its constant motion. The many hours of footage were then edited into a series of five acts, like movements of a symphony, by Walther Ruttmann as a continuation of his experiments with abstract motion. Scanned in 2K resolution from 16mm elements and featuring a score by composer Timothy Brock as performed by the Olympia Chamber Orchestra, Flicker Alley and Blackhawk Films are proud to release this classic of documentary cinema in a high-definition Blu-ray edition for the first time ever. Berlin defined the formula of the "city symphony" film and according to John Grierson the filmmaker/critic who coined the term "documentary" "No film has been more influential, more imitated."


  • UPC: 810162037246
  • Home Release: 2018-09-04
  • Original Release: 1927
  • Content Provider: Flicker Alley, LLC
  • Runtime: 62:00
  • Genre: Documentary
  • Language: Silent (with English Subtitles)
  • Format: BR
  • Screen:
  • Aspect: 1.33:1
  • Rating: NR
  • Audio: Mono
  • Color/BW: B/W
  • Special Features: Important Product Information: This product is manufactured on demand in the BD-R format. It will play in nearly all leading Blu-ray players that have the latest firmware updates. Microsoft Xbox One, however, does not currently support BD-R playback. Bonus Feature: Commentary track by filmmaker Alex Barrett, director of London Symphony.
  • Copyright: (c)2018 Flicker Alley, LLC
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Disc Format: BD-50

Cast and Crew


Written by:
Walther Ruttman & Karl Freund

Directed by:
Walther Ruttman

Produced by:
Carl Mayer