Item #: 889290092069
In Stock
  • Drama (Aspect: 1.33:1)
  • DVD-R Product: This Product is manufactured on demand.
Retail: $16.95
Price: $15.95
You Save: $1.00 (5.9%)


    For the five years between 1908 and 1913, D.W. Griffith directed some 450 films for the Biograph Company, delivering at a rate of two or three films per week. These films, one and two reels in length, are sometimes regarded as apprentice works, films in which Griffith borrowed, invented, and perfected the forms and techniques that he later used to such memorable effects in The Birth of a Nation (1915), Intolerance (1916), Way Down East (1920), Orphans of the Storm (1921), and Isn't Life Wonderful? (1924). But the Biographs were more than that.

    The twenty-two films presented in this collector's version of D.W. Griffith Years Of Discovery: 1909-1913 are the centerpieces of that extraordinary group of films. Volume One includes such widely recognized masterworks as The Musketeers of Pig Alley and Corner in Wheat. But lesser-known social dramas like What Shall We Do With Our Old? and a comic gem called The Sunbeam are also included. They rank among the best in a collection of short films that helped shape cinematic narrative for two generations.

    Plots are simple and direct, and if the films are saturated with quasi-comic cliches and old-fashioned insensitivities, they also reveal an extraordinary dramatic talent of brilliant force. It is easy to see why the Griffith Biographs were so popular at the time. With an uncanny instinct for acting talent, Griffith assembled the foremost film ensemble of his day, including Lillian and Dorothy Gish, Mary Pickford, Mack Sennett, Lionel Barrymore, Henry Walthall, and Mae Marsh. Beyond that, the requirements of plot detail, the tight physical locale of interior sets (we never see more that three sides of any room), and the need to establish character immediately resulted in a kind of cinematic shorthand which gave these shorts terrific compression. The limitations of time and space also meant that people, places, and objects frequently took on extraordinary metaphoric power they gradually lost as movies got longer. Many of the Griffith Biographs rank with the finest movies he ever made; collectively, they provide an unparalleled record of American life at the turn of the 20th century.

    (Abridged from essay by Russell Merritt, Film Historian and Professor, University of California, Berkeley)


    Those Awful Hats
    The Sealed Room
    The Redman's View
    Corner in Wheat
    The Unchanging Sea
    In the Border States
    His Trust
    What Shall We Do with Our Old?
    For His Son
    The Sunbeam
    The Girl and Her Trust
    The Female of the Species
    One Is Business, The Other Crime
    An Unseen Enemy
    The Painted Lady
    The Musketeers of Pig Alley

    Year: 1909-1913
    Length: 218 minutes
    Director: D.W. Griffith
    Starring: Lillian Gish, Dorothy Gish, Mary Pickford, Mack Sennett, Lionel Barrymore, Henry Walthall, Mae Marsh
    Format: NTSC

    Produced for DVD by David Shepard
    From the Blackhawk Films® Collection
    Presented by Flicker Alley

    • UPC: 889290092069
    • Release Date: 1909-1913
    • Content Provider: Flicker Alley, LLC
    • Runtime: 218:00
    • Genre: Drama
    • Language: English
    • Format: DVD-NTSC
    • Screen: 0.16875
    • Aspect: 1.33:1
    • Rating: NR
    • Audio: Stereo
    • Color/BW: BW
    • Special Features: None
    • Copyright: Special Contents of This Edition ©2002 by Film Preservation Associates, Inc. / Blu-ray Publication and Design ©2016 Flicker Alley, LLC
    • Number of Discs: 1
    • Disc Format: DVD-9

    Lillian Gish
    Dorothy Gish
    Mary Pickford
    Mack Sennett
    Lionel Barrymore
    Henry Walthall
    Mae Marsh
    Mack Sennett

    Written by:
    D.W. Griffith
    Emmett C. Hall
    George Hennessy

    Directed by:
    D.W. Griffith

    Produced by: